PDA

View Full Version : Who is this?


jMcQuarrie
09-25-2007, 10:31 AM
In my stats I get huge numbers of "hits" from a host at this address:

210.198.232.72.static.reverse.ltdomains.com

Could anyone shed any light on who is at this address? Is it a bot?

SarahG
09-25-2007, 11:47 AM
According to samspade.org, the IP is owned by the domain - DION ホームページ (http://www.dion.ne.jp/)

However thats all I can tell as I don't have Japanese installed on my browser ;)

Looks like an ISP perhaps to me.

Can you trace one of the hits in your raw logs and show us the user agent details as that can sometimes give away more details about the type of visitor, whether it's bot or human. The address itself won't tell you much as a bot could be run on any machine.

Also I use the bad behaviour plugin for WordPress which has stopped a lot of spam bots getting to my site which I recommend (if you have WP).

jMcQuarrie
09-25-2007, 12:04 PM
Unfortunately I don't have access to the raw logs, I can tell you that they are hitting my /feed directory. And I'm guessing they are a bot given the frequency (up to 20 times a minute). I just wondered if anyone else was being "visited" by these people and if it was legitimate? I'll look up the bad behavior plugin, thanks :)

SarahG
09-25-2007, 12:15 PM
Ahh well 20 times a minute would be a bot! I would imagine that if they're hitting the feed directory they're simply aggregating the content. Whether it's for a feedreader or to steal the content, that I don't know. I've checked my stats and don't have the IP in them just for the record.

When I had a lot of bot problems I installed a free stats package called Tracewatch - TraceWatch Web Stats - FREE Advanced Traffic Analysis (http://www.tracewatch.com) and as this runs on PHP it picks up every visitor, unlike javascript trackers. It will also track the visitor through the site so you can see bot like tendencies. For example I saw 'visitors' going from one old post to another old post, both of which were completely unrelated, so I put that down to a spam bot. By getting the useragents of some I could do a bit of blocking as some stated they were on windows 95 with IE 6 running, which is highly unlikely as I don't think 95 runs IE6! Often these spam bot programs follow traits.

Anyway, this is a fairly good, free, bit of software which may help you track the bot hits a little more. Needs PHP and MySQL to run.

Just for reference the bad behaviour plugin is at Bad Behavior / Bad Behaviour: Home (http://www.bad-behavior.ioerror.us/)

jMcQuarrie
09-25-2007, 12:25 PM
That's what I thought ;)

TraceWatch looks pretty cool. I'll give that a whirl too once I'm home.

Thanks for the suggestions.

ses5909
09-25-2007, 01:02 PM
Oh, that is the one of the IPs on my server. It visits your feed there because you have it in your profile. You should consider switching to a feedburner feed :)

SarahG
09-25-2007, 01:27 PM
Oh, that is the one of the IPs on my server.

:-? samspade seems to think you're in Japan ;) Unless you host in Japan of course!

Another vote for switching to feedburner here too. If someone does want to syndicate your content at least they won't be using your bandwidth ;)

jMcQuarrie
09-25-2007, 01:34 PM
Done. Feedburner to the rescue!

ses5909
09-25-2007, 01:39 PM
Glad you got it sorted out though!

goldfries
09-26-2007, 04:31 PM
wanna trace IP to source?
IP2Location.com - Lookup IP address to Country, State, City, Netblock, Longitude and Latitude (http://www.ip2location.com/free.asp) :) found this the other day.

samwoodfin
09-29-2007, 01:20 AM
wanna trace IP to source?
IP2Location.com - Lookup IP address to Country, State, City, Netblock, Longitude and Latitude (http://www.ip2location.com/free.asp) :) found this the other day.

OOOooooooohhhh, nice! I've needed that on several occasions when people were Googling my name.